You are using an outdated version of the Microsoft Internet Explorer (MSIE). Please update your current version here or use one of the alternatives, to guarantee a flawless display of this website.

Tim Frost's Website

weltwearts

weltwärts? What's that?

"weltwärts" is the developmental voluntary service of the Federal Republic of Germany, which was founded by the "Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development" in 2007. Volunteers who want to be part of this initiative don't need specific work experience and most of the expenses (max. 75 %) will be paid by german taxes. So it will be possible for many young people in the age between 18 to 28 to go for six to 24 month abroad, where they can participate in intercultural exchange. Most of the volunteers go for one year into a developmental country after they finished their high school graduation. But you will also find people, who finished their education or bachelor/master thesis.

The slogan of the voluntary service is „Learning by Helping“.

There exist a few "sending-organisations", who take the liability of the complete organisation of the volunteer program. Candidates who are interested in the "weltwärts" program, will apply there. My sending-origanisation called "IN VIA Cologne e.V." (more information)

If you need more informations about the "weltwärts" initiative, then take a look on their homepage (only available in german)

Countries of Operation

Currently, volunteers can be sent into 77 countries on the whole world.

  • 27 countries in Africa (e.g. Ivory Coast, Kenya, Namibia and South Africa)
  • 22 countries in Asia (e.g. India, Laos, Vietnam and the Palestinian Territories)
  • 10 countries in Europe (e.g. Kosovo, Ukraine, Turkey and Belarus)
  • 15 countries in Latin America (e.g. Brazil, Costa Rica, Ecuador and Nicaragua)
  • 3 countries in Oceania (Fiji, Kiribati and Papua New Guinea)

For communication it will be necessary, that the volunteers speak one of the main languages of the host country (mostly english or spanish). Special national languages aren't necessary to know beforehand, but it is expected, that they learn one of these independently when they are abroad.

More information about the projects and priorities can you find on the project-table of "weltwärts" (only available in german).

Financing

In difference to other volunteer-programs, most of the expenses of "weltwärts" will be paid by taxes of the Federal Republic of Germany (max. 75%). The remaining cost will be paid by the sending-organisations (in my case IN Via Cologne). Because of the fact, that a lot of organisations can't cover the remaining costs, the volunteers need to establish an supporting group, who donate for their mission. The supporting group is also a very good possibility for volunteers, to share their experiences with the society and assume the role of an multiplicator.


sources: www.weltwaerts.de (got up from 04/2013), www.de.wikipedia.org (got up from 04/2013)

Sie besitzen eine veraltete Version des Microsoft Internet Explorers (MSIE). Bitte Updaten Sie hier Ihre aktuelle Version oder nutzen sie einen alternativen Internetbrowser, um eine fehlerfreie Darstellung dieser Webseite zu gewährleisten.

Tim Frost's Website

weltwearts

Wer oder Was ist "weltwärts"?

"weltwärts" ist ein aus öffentlichen Mitteln geförderter entwicklungspolitischer Freiwilligendienst, welcher 2007 vom Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) ins Leben gerufen wurde. Bei "weltwärts" handelt es sich um einen Lerndienst, für welchen grundsätzlich kein berufliches Fachwissen benötigt wird. Hierdurch kann es vielen jungen Menschen im Alter zwischen 18 - 28 Jahren ermöglicht werden, sich für 6 bis 24 Monate am interkulturellen Austausch in unserer Welt zu beteiligen. Viele Freiwillige tuen dies häufig nach dem Abschluss einer Ausbildung oder dem Abitur.

Der Freiwilligendienst steht unter dem Motto „Lernen durch tatkräftiges Helfen“ und stellt für die Partnerprojekte in den Einsatzländern "Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe" zur Verfügung.

Für den reibungslosen Ablauf, sowie die Organisation, die Herstellung und Wahrung von Kontakten in den Einsatzländern gibt es mehrere (Entsende-) Organisationen, welche sich die Anliegen von "weltwärts" zur Aufgabe gemacht haben. Hierzu zählt auch meine Entsendeorganisation IN VIA Köln e.V. (mehr dazu hier...).

Weitere Informationen über "weltwärts" finden Sie hier ...

Einsatzländer

Insgesamt wird aktuell in 77 Länder auf aller Welt entsendet.

  • 27 Länder in Afrika (z.B. Elfenbeinküste, Kenia, Namibia und Südafrika)
  • 22 Länder in Asien (z.B. Indien, Laos, Vietnam und Palästinensische Gebiete)
  • 10 Länder in Europa (z.B. Kosovo, Ukraine, Türkei und Weißrussland)
  • 15 Länder in Lateinamerkia (z.B. Brasilien, Costa-Rica, Ecuador und Nicaragua)
  • 3 Länder in Ozeanien (Fidschi, Kiribati und Papua-Neuguinea)

Es werden zur Kommunikation oft gute Grundkenntnisse einer Sprache im Gastland erwartet, meist Englisch oder Spanisch. Spezielle Landessprachen werden, falls erforderlich, in Eigenregie vor Ort erlernt.

Mehr Informationen finden sie in der Projektbörse von "weltwärts". Dort finden Interessierte auch eine Auflistung der Einsatzstellen und Einsatzschwerpunkte.

Finanzierung

Im Unterschied zu anderen Freiwilligendiensten wird ein Großteil der Kosten vom BMZ übernommen (bis zu 75%). Die verbleibenden Kosten trägt die Entsendeorganisation (in meinem Falle IN VIA). Diese erwarten meist, dass die Freiwilligen einen Unterstützerkreis bilden, da sie finanziell die verbleibenden Kosten nicht abdecken können. Außerdem bietet der Unterstützerkreis dem Freiwilligen eine sehr gute Möglichkeit, eine Rolle als Multiplikator_in einzunehmen, wodurch Erfahrungen mit der Gesellschaft geteilen werden können. (mehr dazu hier ...)


Quellen: www.weltwaerts.de (Stand 04/2013), www.de.wikipedia.org (Stand 04/2013)